Gameguru Mania Forum Index Gameguru Mania
Daily Gaming, Hardware, Software and Technology News
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
news | cheats | reviews | specials | hardware | demos | FLASH GAMES | about | links


OpenAI's bot beats world's greatest DOTA 2 players [43960]

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gameguru Mania Forum Index -> News
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ggrobot
Elite Member
Elite Member


Joined: 28 May 2004
Posts: 28441

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:07 pm    Post subject: OpenAI's bot beats world's greatest DOTA 2 players [43960] Reply with quote

i” Ishuti to its list of conquests. Engineers said the AI mastered DOTA 2 by playing games against itself, called “learned bot behavior,” allowing it to acquire techniques like last hitting and raze faking.

Read more...

Source: GGMania headlines
GGMania.com - Daily Gaming and Tech news
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thudo
Elite Member
Elite Member


Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Posts: 362
Location: North Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hope someday OpenAI will compensate for all the utterly shiet AI code logic in modern games especially in the last decade: game devs have really abandoned AI code logic in favour of quick-fix MP which, I suppose, makes sense as whose a better opponent really apart from the human mind? Well.. now, finally, that looks to be changing... thank gawd!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amra
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 11 Aug 2004
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ai was shit, but winning against it is not always only a question of strategy I guess, it also comes down to how fast you make decisions and can push the right buttons. Winning against the hardest opponent in AoE2 is only possible for me by using the "pause" function for giving orders, as an example.
Wish I had such a function in Quake3. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gameguru Mania Forum Index -> News All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2016 phpBB Group