Gameguru Mania Forum Index Gameguru Mania
Daily Gaming, Hardware, Software and Technology News
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
news | cheats | reviews | specials | hardware | demos | FLASH GAMES | about | links


Overclock stable in XP but not Vista?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gameguru Mania Forum Index -> Windows XP/Vista/7
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
murrey
Contributor
Contributor


Joined: 20 Aug 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:39 pm    Post subject: Overclock stable in XP but not Vista? Reply with quote

Yes, interesting I know. Before upgrading to Vista Ultimate a few months back I had tweaked my system to be 100% prime stable under XP.

I have an E6600 overclocked to 3.42ghz. I was able to run iTAT full load overnight as well without any issues.

Now, Vista has been working fine. I have not had any crashes or anything of the sort even when playing hardcore games.

However, I finally got around to downloading iTAT and my idle temps are almost 10 degrees higher than they were in XP.

Under full iTAT load the system will blue screen and restart. I upped the vcore voltage to 1.4 but that is as high as I would go.

It would still blue screen under iTAT. I also eventually got an error while running orthos.

Anybody have any ideas how a rock stable overclock on one OS could be not so stable on another?

During regular use and gaming the computer is fine so that is why I didn't even notice it so it is not that big of a deal.

Games and whatever else I do regularly do not even come close to the orthos or iTAT load and I never have crashes. But that is not the point. Anybody else have similar issues? Thanks.
_________________
Bay area plastic surgeon
play poker games
types of secured loans


Last edited by murrey on Wed Sep 19, 2007 1:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ravenheart
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 31 May 2006
Posts: 107
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vista uses the computer's resources all the time, much like Freelancer which used your computer to the max to produce a stable play, it could Blue Screen your PC if something was not right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gameguru Mania Forum Index -> Windows XP/Vista/7 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2016 phpBB Group